Written by Holly on Monday July 20, 2009

We interrupt our regular scheduled programming blog to bring you this exciting announcement... Congratulations to several members of the OETA staff for their awards won this weekend! 

BJ_Emmy_3_with_MickieOETA was nominated for six Emmy Awards at the Heartland Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences dinner held Saturday. The Heartland Chapter covers most of Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska and Oklahoma. Our own BJ Wexler got to take home one of the coveted statues as "Best Program Host." He's pictured here with the Producer and Director of the OETA Movie Club, Mickie Smith.

OETA also won eight awards from the Oklahoma Associated Press Broadcasters on Friday. Awards went to the following:

Best Video Editing
1st                        State of Creativity - Derek Watson
2nd                       Gallery: "The Song Receiver" - Dave Tamez
Election Coverage
1st                        Election Night Coverage - OETA Election Staff
2nd                       Stateline: Up In Smoke - Stateline Staff
Feature Photography
3rd                       Stateline: Shootin' Iron - Boots Kennedye
Feature Reporting
Honorable Mention        Gallery: Harmonic Healing - Susan Miller, Boots Kennedye
Investigative Reporting
Honorable Mention        Stateline: Meth in McCurtain County - Stateline Staff
General News
Honorable Mention        Slow Trolleys - Lori Rasmussen